Implementing abandoned checkout emails is a great way to reengage and convert a segment of shoppers who signaled a high intent to purchase but did not make it all the way through the checkout process. Using the abandoned checkout recovery email feature, Blackcart will automatically send reminders to shoppers who have added Try Before You Buy items to their cart and started the checkout process on Blackcart’s checkout, but dropped off without completing their order.
How abandoned Blackcart checkout emails work
Blackcart will identify shoppers who have abandoned their Blackcart checkout and send them reminder emails. These emails will include a call-to-action button that takes the shopper to the Blackcart checkout page to complete their order.
The first email will be sent 1 hour after the checkout is created, followed by a second email 12 hours later, and a third email 48 hours later.
Only shoppers who abandon their Blackcart checkout will receive these emails. As soon as the targeted shopper converts, they will stop receiving any subsequent checkout abandonment emails. Non-TBYB shoppers or shoppers who add TBYB items to their cart and don’t make it to Blackcart’s checkout will not be targeted.
Sample of Emails
Sent 1 hour after checkout abandonment
Email subject line: Did you forget something?
Sent 12 hours after checkout abandonment
Email subject line: Good news! We saved your cart for you.
Sent 48 hours after checkout abandonment
Email subject line: Don't let this slip away!
How to activate Abandoned Blackcart Checkout emails
The abandoned Blackcart checkout emails will be enabled by default. If you would like to deactivate or reactivate, this can be done within the Merchant Portal.
- Log in to your Merchant Portal account
- Navigate to the My Store section
- Click the Edit button in the top right corner of the page
- Scroll down to the Notification Settings section, and look for Blackcart Abandoned Checkouts Notification. Check the box to enable these emails.
Frequently Asked Questions
Who will receive these abandoned Blackcart checkout emails?
Any shopper who makes it to the second page of Blackcart’s checkout and does not checkout will be eligible to receive the abandoned Blackcart checkout emails.
What happens if the shopper receives an abandoned Blackcart checkout email and ends up placing an order?
If the abandoned Blackcart checkout email results in an order the shopper will no longer receive abandoned checkout emails for this cart.
What if the shopper abandons checkout again after receiving one of the abandoned Blackcart checkout emails?
The reminder workflow will not restart and Blackcart will use the original abandonment for the reminder workflow. If they abandon the checkout after 48 hours they will no longer receive emails.
What if I am already sending abandoned checkout emails through Shopify?
If you are using Shopify to send your abandoned checkout emails, by default Shopify will exclude Blackcart checkouts from their emails. Shopify’s default abandoned checkout flow will filter out checkouts where the sales channel is not Online Store. The sales channel for Blackcart orders is Blackcart.
If you are using a 3rd party application to send your abandoned checkout emails, we suggest adding a rule to exclude Blackcart checkouts so that customers do not receive duplicate abandoned checkout emails. To do this in Klaviyo, you can add a trigger filter condition that checks if Source Name = web. This will ensure that only Shopify checkouts are targeted.