Frequently asked questions related to the try period and returns process for Try Before You Buy orders
- When does the try period start for an order?
- When are customers charged for their order?
- How can customers initiate a return?
- How can a customer initiate a return after their try period is over?
- How is returned inventory restocked back into my system?
- What happens if the returned package includes items that are damaged, missing, or do not match the items indicated by the customer as being returned?
- Is it possible to extend the try period for customers if needed?
When does the try period start for an order?
A try period is a set period of time in days that your customer will have to make a "keep" or "send back" decision for any TBYB items in their order. The Try period starts as soon as ALL items in an order are delivered and ends either when they make a "keep" or "send back" decision or when the "Try period" expires, whichever comes first.
When are customers charged for their order?
There are several transaction events throughout the Try Before You Buy order cycle. Timing for charge and refund transactions will depend on a number of factors. The most common are:
- Customer is charged at checkout for any upfront paid items as well as a Try Before You Buy deposit (if applicable).
Every TBYB order has a set number of days for a customer to decide whether they want to keep an item or send it back to the merchant.
- Try Period Expiry: If the customer does not make a decision during the Try Period, the customer will be charged for all TBYB items after the Try Period has expired.
- Drop off Period Expiry: If the customer fails to drop off their returns package with the carrier before the drop off period has expired the customer will be charged for all TBYB items.
- Note: drop-off returns package must be scanned with the carrier within the drop off period to avoid getting charged.
- Customer keeps all the items: Customers are charged immediately after they indicate that they want to keep all items minus the deposit fee (if applicable).
- Customer indicated at-least one item to be sent back: Once the package is dropped off at the designated return facility, the customer will be charged for all items kept.
- Customer sends back all items: If a deposit was charged, the customer will be refunded once the package has been received and processed by the merchant in their warehouse.
- Note: Some merchants charge a restocking fee if all items are returned; the customer will be refunded the balance amount (if applicable) after the restocking fee is deducted.
How can customers initiate a return?
During the Try Period, customers can use their Blackcart Customer Portal to initiate a return for items in their Try Before You Buy order.
There are two different ways customers can access their Customer Portal account:
- As soon as their order is confirmed, Blackcart will send an email with a direct link to their Customer Portal. Once all TBYB orders have been delivered, the portal will display a countdown timer reminding customers of their try period expiration date and time.
- Merchants can embed a Blackcart Returns Embed form on their native Returns Page, allowing customers to log in with their email address and order number. If an order is still active, the customer will be directed to the Blackcart customer portal; otherwise, the customer will be directed to the merchant's return system.
How can a customer initiate a return after their try period is over?
Customers who do not return the order within the try period may do so in accordance with the your own (merchant specific) return policy. Acceptance of returns after the try period is at the sole discretion of the merchant.
How is returned inventory restocked back into my system?
Blackcart's restock on refund feature is disabled by default. If this feature is enabled, when a refund is issued, the item is added back to the inventory and the product will be marked as 'restocked' in Shopify.
What happens if the returned package includes items that are damaged, missing, or do not match the items indicated by the customer as being returned?
If a returned order contains damaged, missing, or incorrect items, and you would like to charge the customer for them, do not proceed to process the return in your system. Instead, log in to the Blackcart Merchant Portal, go to the order details page, and complete the following steps:
- From the "Products" section, locate the product in question and click "Reject Return". If there are multiple products you'd like to reject, click "Reject Return" for each one.
- Once you've finished marking the products in question as rejected, go to the Actions drop-down menu on the top right corner of the order details page and select "Process Returns"
Note that this is only possible when the order is in a Pending Complete status, and the product must be in a Return Submitted status. If the order has already been completed, contact Blackcart's merchant support team here to assist with charging the customer for the rejected return.
Is it possible to extend the try period for customers if needed?
Yes, it is possible to extend the try period for a customer’s order, only if the order is in a Trial In Progress order status and the try period is not expired. To learn more, click here.
Article is closed for comments.